School of Health Sciences - College of Education, Health and Human Development - University of Canterbury - New Zealand

Apply Now

People in the School of Health Sciences

Head of School


Professor Michael Robb

Professor Michael Robb

Head of School
Room: 204, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 4107 ext: 94107
michael.robb@canterbury.ac.nz

Deputy Heads of School


Professor Philip Schluter

Professor Philip Schluter

Professor of Health Sciences
Room: 107, Level 1, Otakaro Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3523 ext: 93523
philip.schluter@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Chris North

Dr Chris North

Senior Lecturer  - Outdoor Education
Room: Recreation Centre 136
Phone: +64 3 369 3436 ext: 93436 
chris.north@canterbury.ac.nz

Administration Staff


Sandrine Main

Sandrine Main

School Administrator - Health Sciences
Room: 205, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3506 ext: 93506
sandrine.main@canterbury.ac.nz

Sharon Chapman-Stead

Sharon Chapman-Stead

School Administrator - Sport & PE
Monday – Wednesday 9am – 2.30pm, Thursday 9am – 4.30pm
Room: Rec Centre 142
Phone: + 64 3 369 3434  ext: 93434    
sharon.chapman-stead@canterbury.ac.nz

Emma Clark

Emma Clark

Administrative Assistant
Phone: +64 3 369 3395 ext: 93395
shssadmin@canterbury.ac.nz
Lorraine McKeown

Lorraine McKeown

Specialist Programme Administrator
Room: Ground floor, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3567 ext: 93567
lorraine.mckeown@canterbury.ac.nz

Academic Staff


Annabel Ahuriri-Driscoll

Annabel Ahuriri-Driscoll

Lecturer in Health Sciences, Māori Health and Wellbeing
Room: 216, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3516 ext: 93516
annabel.ahuriri-driscoll@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Cathy Andrew

Dr Cathy Andrew

Director of Nursing in conjunction with Ara
catherine.andrew@canterbury.ac.nz

Shanee Barraclough

Shanee Barraclough

Lecturer in Counselling
Room: 217, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3532 ext: 93532
shanee.barraclough@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Arindam Basu

Dr Arindam Basu

Senior Lecturer in Health Sciences
Room: 225, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3509 ext: 93509
arindam.basu@canterbury.ac.nz

Gavin Blackwell

Gavin Blackwell

Sport Science Technician
Room: Kirkwood Village KB02
Phone: +64 3 369 3435 ext: 93435
gavin.blackwell@canterbury.ac.nz

Phillip Borell

Phillip Borell

Senior Tutor - Sport & PE
Room: 162 Hikuraki (Te Ao Mārama)
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 ext: 8643 
phillip.borell@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Eileen Britt

Dr Eileen Britt

Senior Lecturer and Health Behaviour Change Programme Coordinator
Room: 119, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3694 ext: 93694
eileen.britt@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Jenny Clarke

Dr Jenny Clarke

Senior Lecturer in Sport & PE
Room: Rec Centre 137
Phone: +64 3 369 3448 ext: 93448
jenny.clarke@canterbury.ac.nz

Tracy Clelland

Tracy Clelland

Lecturer in Health Education
Room: Otakaro 105
Phone: +64 3 369 3437 ext: 93437
tracy.clelland@canterbury.ac.nz

Jackie Cowan

Jackie Cowan

Lecturer in Sport and PE
Room: Kirkwood Village KB01
Phone: +64 3 369 3445 ext: 93445
jackie.cowan@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Ian Culpan

Professor Ian Culpan

Professor in Sport & PE
Room: Rec Centre 138
Phone: +64 3 369 3447 ext: 93447
ian.culpan@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Nick Draper

Professor Nick Draper

Professor of Sport & Exercise Science
Room: Rec Centre 139
Phone: +64 3 369 3878 ext: 93878
nick.draper@canterbury.ac.nz

Associate Professor Karyn France

Associate Professor Karyn France

Associate Professor and Child and Family Psychology Programme Coordinator
Room: 208, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3990 ext: 93990
karyn.france@canterbury.ac.nz

Glenn Fyall

Glenn Fyall

Lecturer in Sport & PE
Room: Kirkwood Village KB01
Phone: +64 3 369 3443 ext: 93443 
glenn.fyall@canterbury.ac.nz

Alex Gosteva

Alex Gosteva

Senior Tutor
Room: 122, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 367 0716 ext: 44344
alex.gosteva@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Thomas Harding

Dr Thomas Harding

Senior Lecturer in Nursing
Room: 224, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3664 ext: 93664
thomas.harding@canterbury.ac.nz

Raesha Ismail

Raesha Ismail

Senior Tutor in Health Education
Room: Otakaro 103
Phone: +64 3 369 3446 ext: 93446 
raesha.ismail@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Isabel Jamieson

Dr Isabel Jamieson

Senior Lecturer in Nursing, UC & Ara
Room: 203, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3866 ext: 93866 
isabel.jamieson@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Ray Kirk

Professor Ray Kirk

Professor in Health Sciences

Health Information Management Convenor and Director, Health Services Assessment Collaboration (HSAC)
Room: 226, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3707 ext: 93707
ray.kirk@canterbury.ac.nz

Josje Lelijveld

Senior Tutor in Specialist Teaching
Phone: 027-427-2702
josje.lelijveld@canterbury.ac.nz

Associate Professor Kathleen Liberty

Associate Professor Kathleen Liberty

Associate Professor and Early Intervention Programme Coordinator
Room: 202, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3982 ext: 93982
kathleen.liberty@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Richard Light

Professor Richard Light

Professor in Sport & PE 
Room: Rec Centre 140
Phone: +64 3 369 3442 ext: 93442
richard.light@canterbury.ac.nz

Heather Lindsay

Heather Lindsay

Senior Tutor in Sport & PE
Room: Kirkwood Village KB01 
Phone: +64 3 369 3439 ext: 93439
heather.lindsay@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Catherine Lizamore

Dr Catherine Lizamore

Senior Tutor in Sport & PE
Room: Kirkwood Village KB02
Phone: +64 3 369 3440 ext: 93440 
Catherine.lizamore@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Sarah Lovell

Dr Sarah Lovell

Senior Lecturer in Health Sciencecs
Room: 227, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3576 ext: 93576
sarah.lovell@canterbury.ac.nz

placeholder photo

Associate Professor Sonja Macfarlane

Associate Professor of Health Sciences
Room: 218, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 5110 ext: 95110
sonja.macfarlane@canterbury.ac.nz

Anne-Marie McIlroy

Anne-Marie McIlroy

Lecturer in Specialist Teaching
Room: Waimairi Building
anne-marie.mcilroy@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Laurie McLay

Dr Laurie McLay

Senior Lecturer and Programme Coordinator in Specialist Teaching
Room: 121, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3522 ext: 93522
laurie.mclay@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Brad Miles

Dr Brad Miles

Lecturer
Room: Kirkwood Village KB01
Phone: +64 3 369 3441 ext 93441 
Brad.miles@canterbury.ac.nz

Associate Professor Judi Miller

Associate Professor Judi Miller

Associate Professor and Counsellor Education Programme Coordinator
Room: 215, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3525 ext: 93525
judi.miller@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Carl Petersen

Dr Carl Petersen

Senior Lecturer
Room: Kirkwood Village KB02
Phone:+64 3 369 3438 ext: 93438
carl.petersen@canterbury.ac.nz

Denise Powell

Dr Denise Powell

Senior Lecturer in Deaf and Hard of Hearing
Phone: +64 3 369 5958 ext: 95958
denise.powell@canterbury.ac.nz

Kate Reid

Kate Reid

Senior Lecturer in Health Sciences and Palliative Care Programme Coordinator
Room: 222, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3575 ext: 93575
kate.reid@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Ann Richardson

Professor Ann Richardson

Professor in Cancer Epidemiology
Room: 201, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3520
ann.richardson@canterbury.ac.nz

Mohammad Shah Razak

Tutor in Sport & PE
Room: Kirkwood Village KB02
Mohammad.Razak@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Tony Schmetzer

Tony Schmetzer

Technician
Room: Kirkwood Village KB02 
Phone: +64 3 369 3450 ext: 93450
tony.schmetzer@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Cara Swit

Dr Cara Swit

Senior Lecturer in Specialist Teaching (Early Intervention)
Room 120, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 4408 ext: 94408
cara.swit@canterbury.ac.nz

Michael Tarren-Sweeney

Michael Tarren-Sweeney

Associate Professor in Child and Family Psychology
Room: 206, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3450 ext: 93450
michael.tarren-sweeney@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Christoph Teschers

Dr Christoph Teschers

Senior Tutor in Specialist Teaching
Room: 122, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 4647 ext: 94647
Christoph.teschers@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Lois Tonkin

Dr Lois Tonkin

Lecturer
Room: 223, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 364 2987 ext: 7403
lois.tonkin@canterbury.ac.nz

Associate Professor Michael Tarren-Sweeney

Dr Gaye Tyler-Merrick

Lecturer
Room: 207, Level 2, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3508 ext: 93508
gaye.tyler-merrick@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Anne van Bysterveldt

Dr Anne van Bysterveldt

Senior Lecturer in Developmental Disabilities
Room: 118, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3533 ext: 93533
anne.vanbysterveldt@canterbury.ac.nz

Piet Van Hasselt

Piet Van Hasselt

Senior Tutor in Sport & PE
Room: Kirkwood Village KB02
Phone: +64 3 369 3449 ext: 93449
Mobile: 027 3248498 
Piet.vanhasselt@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Mark Wallace-Bell

Dr Mark Wallace-Bell

Lecturer and Motivating Behaviour Change Programme Coordinator
Room: 119, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3730 ext: 93730
mark.wallace-bell@canterbury.ac.nz

Sibi Boycott Walter

Sibi Boycott Walter

Tutor in Sport & PE
Room: Kirkwood Village KB02
Phone: +64 3 364 2987 extn 6506 
Sibi.walter@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Sarah Whitcombe-Dobbs

Sarah Whitcombe-Dobbs

Lecturer in Child & Family Psychology
Room: 109, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 5528 ext: 95528
sarah.whitcombe-dobbs@canterbury.ac.nz

Clinical Staff


Myriam Bejjani

Myriam Bejjani

5th Year Clinical Educator (Child & Family Psychology Programme)
Room: 109, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3527 ext: 93527
myriam.bejjani@canterbury.ac.nz

Suzi Hall

Suzi Hall

Director (Pukemanu - Dovedale Centre)  
Room: 109, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3521 ext 93521
suzanne.hall@canterbury.ac.nz

Julie Densem

Julie Densem

Clinic Educator (Pukemanu - Dovedale Centre)
Room: Observation Room 1, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: + 64 3 369 3688 ext: 93688
julie.densem@canterbury.ac.nz

Rebecca Lee

Rebecca Lee

Clinical Educator in Child and Family Psychology
Room: 109, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 4667 ext: 94667
rebecca.lee@canterbury.ac.nz

Philippa Ranby

Philippa Ranby

Clinical Educator (Master of Counselling programme)
Room: 119, Level 1, Waimairi Building
Phone: +64 3 369 3995 ext: 93995
philippa.ranby@canterbury.ac.nz

International Visitors


 

Past Erskine Fellows

Adjunct Staff


 

Associate Professor Pauline Barnett

Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Canterbury
pauline.barnett@canterbury.ac.nz

Dr Annette Beautrais

Senior Research Fellow, South Auckland Clinical School, School of Medicine
Louis.beautrais@gmail.com

Dr Patricia Champion MBE

Founder and Clinical Director Emeritus of the Champion Centre, Christchurch; and Adjunct Senior Fellow, University of Canterbury

Natalie Conley

Nursing Lecturer (MH), Department of Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health, Ara, and Adjunct Fellow, University of Canterbury

Associate Professor Penni Cushman

Associate Professor in Sport & PE
penni.cushman@canterbury.ac.nz

Professor Alison Dixon

Health Sciences
Adjunct Senior Fellow

Dr Jeff Foote

Senior Scientist, Social Systems Group, Institute of Environmental Science and Research (ESR) Ltd; and Adjunct Senior Fellow, University of Canterbury

Professor Jeff Gage

California Baptist University
School of Nursing
Adjunct Senior Fellow

Dr Theresa Green

Health Sciences
Adjunct Senior Fellow

Mr Michael Greenslade

Head, Counselling Department, Senior Division, Burnside High School and Adjunct Fellow, University of Canterbury

Associate Professor Michael Hamlin

Dept of Tourism, Sport & Society, Lincoln University
Adjunct Associate Professor

Dr Christine Hendry

Director NZ Institute of Community Health Care, Board member New Zealand National Health IT Board, Member CDHB research Committee and Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Canterbury

Associate Professor Alastair (Sandy) Macleod

Medical Director/Neuropsychiatrist, Brain Injury Rehabilitation Service, Burwood Hospital; and Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Canterbury

Kaye Milligan

Nursing Lecturer, Principal Academic Staff Member, Bachelor of Nursing Programme Leader, Department of Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health, Ara, and Adjunct Fellow, University of Canterbury

Katrina Norris

Senior Nursing Lecturer (SASM), Department of Nursing, Midwifery and Allied Health, Ara, and Adjunct Fellow, University of Canterbury

Professor John Potter

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Centre, Wayne Francis Trust, and Adjunct Professor, University of Canterbury

Professor Stephan Wassong

Adjunct Professor in Health Sciences
Deutsche Sportochschule Köln (German Sport University Cologne)