Register of PhD Supervisors - College of Education, Health and Human Development - University of Canterbury - New Zealand

Apply Now

Register of PhD & EdD Supervisors

 

 

Distinguished Professor Niki Davis

niki.davis@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area:E-Learning, innovation and change, ICT Information & Communication Technologies

Professor Niki Davis

Professor Ian Culpan

ian.culpan@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Curriculum development in physical education, sports in schools, olympism studies and sports pedagogy

Associate Professor Ian Culpan

Professor Nick Draper

nick.draper@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Physiology of adventure sports including kayaking, canoeing and rock climbing. Exercise interventions in a health context: traditional versus non-traditional prescription. Sport specific measures of performance. Exercise science pedagogy.

Professor Nick Draper

Professor John Everatt

john.everatt@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Reading ability and disability (dyslexia), educational implications of the learning abilities/disabilities and cognitive-developmental aspects of attention and reading

Professor John Everatt

Professor Letitia Fickel

letitia.fickel@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Teacher learning/professional development and innovations in practice (initial teacher education, professional learning communities; program evaluation; leading learning); school-university collaboration and partnerships; culturally responsive teaching and learning.

Professor Letitia Fickel

Professor Gail Gillon

gail.gillon@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Children at risk for literacy difficulties, phonological awareness, dyslexia, childhood speech and language disorders

Professor Gail Gillon

Professor Janinka Greenwood

janinka.greenwood@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Creativity and Change

Professor Janinka Greenwood

Adjunct Professor Garry Hornby

garry.hornby@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Counselling, educational psychology, health education, inclusive education, special education, parental involvement, transition from school to work

Professor Garry Hornby

Professor Ray Kirk

ray.kirk@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Decision making in health care, evidence based healthcare, health informatics, health services research and evaluation, health technology assessment

Professor Ray Kirk

Professor Richard Light

richard.light@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Sport and physical education pedagogy; sport coaching; sociology of sport with a focus on the body, culture, gender, embodiment and sport; sport history using range of qualitative methodologies and data generation methods.

Professor Richard Light

Professor Angus Macfarlane

angus.macfarlane@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Curriculum Development; Diversity; Education Theory; Māori Education; Politics of Education; Socio-Cultural Theories of Education Māori Knowledge and Development: Māori Knowledge/Culture

Professor Angus Macfarlane

Professor Missy Morton

missy.morton@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: My research interests include inclusive education, the sociology of special education, and disability studies in education. My recent projects and publications look at structures and practices that support teachers and schools to welcome all children, young people and their families and provide a quality education for all students.

Professor Missy Morton

Professor Ann Richardson

ann.richardson@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Cancer Epidemiology, Screening, and Public Health

Professor Ann Richardson

Professor Peter Roberts

peter.roberts@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Philosophy of education, educational policy studies.

Professor Peter Roberts

Professor Philip Schluter

philip.schluter@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Population health;  Life-course studies; Health inequalities; Pacific health research; Epidemiology; Bayesian methods; Biostatistics.

Professor Philip Schluter

Adjunct Associate Professor Pauline Barnett

pauline.barnett@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Public health, primary health care, mental health, governments and health restructuring

Associate Professor Pauline Barnett

Associate Professor Una Cunningham

una.cunningham@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Foreign accent, Technology enhanced education, Language education

Associate Professor Una Cunningham

Associate Professor Penni Cushman

penni.cushman@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Health education, health promoting schools,
gender issues in primary schools, men teachers.

Associate Professor Penni Cushman

Associate Professor Jo Fletcher

jo.fletcher@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Literacy, reading, adult literacy, diverse learners, leadership and Pasifika

 

Associate Professor Jo Fletcher

Associate Professor Karyn France

karyn.france@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Assessment and treatment of child behaviour and emotional problems, child advocacy, child development, development of sleep, developmental interactions in the first year of life, parent behaviour

Associate Professor Karyn France

Adjunct Associate Professor John Freeman-Moir

john.freeman-moir@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Democracy and education, sociology of education

Adjunct Associate Professor John Freeman-Moir

Associate Professor Annelies Kamp

annelies.kamp@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Networks and partnerships in/for education, System leadership in education, Leadership development as identity work, School to work transition for disadvantaged groups, Workplace learning as assemblage, Actor Network Theory, Teenage parents and educational endeavours

Associate Professor Annelies Kamp

Associate Professor Kathleen Liberty

kathleen.liberty@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Children’s health and learning, early intervention, education and treatment of children with behaviour and learning difficulties, learning processes

Associate Professor Kathleen Liberty

Associate Professor Susan Lovett

susan.lovett@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Early career learning & development for teachers, teacher leadership, leadership for school improvement, school community partnerships

Dr Susan Lovett

Associate Professor Julie Mackey

julie.mackey@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: E-Learning, ICT planning, information and communication technology, online and blended learning, professional development

Associate Professor Julie Mackey

Associate Professor Judi Miller

Judi.miller@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Brief counselling, career development theory and practice, professionalisation of counselling, qualitative research methodology, sociology of counselling

Associate Professor Judi Miller

Associate Professor Billy O’Steen

billy.osteen@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Curriculum, experiential education, professional development, teacher education.

Associate Professor Billy O'Steen

Associate Professor Kathleen Quinlivan

kathleen.quinlivan@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Genders/sexualities and secondary schooling from student perspectives, Sexuality education in formal and non-formal educational sites, Queer, Post-critical and Post-structural pedagogical approaches, cultural construction of schooling and teaching, critical curriculum studies, post-structural ethnography, discourse analysis

Associate Professor Kathleen Quinlivan

Associate Professor Michael Tarren-Sweeney

michael.tarren-sweeney@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Developmental Psychopathology, mental health of children in foster, kinship and residential care, mental health of other high-risk children, development and wellbeing of children in care, social welfare policy, problem-based learning

Associate Professor Michael Tarren-Sweeney

Dr Jane Abbiss

jane.abbiss@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Curriculum issues (focus on social sciences), gender relations and ICT, learner experiences and identity, teacher learning, social constructionism and critical approaches, qualitative methodologies.

Dr Jane Abbiss

Dr Chris Astall

chris.astall@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Developing attitudes and outcomes in the teaching and learning of Primary Science through ‘hands-on, minds-on’ methodologies, Science postcards – encouraging the development of scientific exploration through children’s literature

Dr Chris Astall

Dr Arindam Basu

arindam.basu@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Health services, environmental epidemiology, information technology, epidemiology, educational research, evidence based medicine, meta analysis and systematic review.

Dr Arindam Basu

Dr John Boereboom

john.boereboom@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area:Educational research in assessment for national qualifications, Quality management of assessment, evaluation and moderation, Evaluation of educational  interventions, programmes and curriculum change, Evidence based decision making for school improvement, Feedback, Gifted and talented education, Value added analysis and monitoring student, department and institution progress, Online assessment approaches, School entrance assessments, Student attitude and engagement, Analysis of large datasets and quantitative research design.

Dr John Boereboom

Dr Eileen Britt

eileen.britt@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Clinical supervision, diabetes management, motivational interviewing

Dr Eileen Britt

Dr Barry Brooker

barry.brooker@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Educational leadership and initial teacher education

Dr Barry Brooker

Adjunct Dr Judy Bruce

judy.bruce@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Physical education curriculum and pedagogy(including Olympism education and adapted physical education), critical pedagogy, alternative education, youth development, global citizenship education, diversity in education.

Judy Bruce

Dr Jenny Clarke

jenny.clarke@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Biomechanics of sports techniques, Video and performance analysis, Multi-tasking in sport-specific contexts

Dr Jenny Clarke

Dr Wendy Fox-Turnbull

wendy.fox-turnbull@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Technology Education, Technology in Initial
Teacher Education, Conversations- contribution
to learning. Authentic Learning Contexts,
Authentic Assessment .

Dr Wendy Fox-Turnbull

Dr Myron Friesen

myron.friesen@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Psycho-social processes in family development and functioning, including parenting issues, partner and parent-child relationships; social-cognitive and interpersonal processes in conflict resolution and forgiveness

Dr Myron Friesen

Dr James Graham

james.graham@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Māori education; Māori culturally responsive pedagogy and curriculum; Māori education and whānau; Māori leadership, indigeneity and Māori educational success.

Dr James Graham

Dr Sarah Lovell

sarah.lovell@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Areas: Qualitative approaches in health services and public health research and particularly work on sexual and reproductive health, community-based health services and workforce issues, globalization and climate change, and participatory research.

Dr Sarah Lovell

Dr Richard Manning

richard.manning@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Treaty of Waitangi issues in relation to schooling, place based education and critical pedagogies of place, New Zealand race relations and schooling, the international ‘culture wars’ and their impact upon the teaching of Social Studies and History (Australia, USA and NZ), contemporary Maori education issues (Policy), contemporary Pacifika education issues (Policy), education for sustainability and community development issues

Dr Richard Manning

Dr Jane McChesney

jane.mcchesney@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Mathematics education in primary and secondary schools, social practices and classroom interactions in mathematics and science lessons (11 to 14 year olds), Initial teacher education, Research methods for teachers

Dr Jane McChesney

Dr Laurie McLay

laurie.mclay@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Applied behaviour analysis, functional analysis, autism spectrum disorders, evidence-based approaches to intervention, teaching strategies to facilitate generalisation and retention of skills.

Dr Laurie McLay

Dr Trish McMenamin

trish.mcmenamin@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area:

Dr Trish McMenamin

Associate Professor Brigid McNeill

brigid.mcneill@canterbury.ac.nz 
Supervision Area: Dr McNeill is a leading expert in intervention for childhood apraxia of speech. Her research focuses on enhancing the educational achievement of children with speech, language, and literacy difficulties. Her fields of research include the examination of effective literacy teaching strategies within the classroom, phonological awareness, literacy development and difficulties, and oral language.

Associate Professor Brigid McNeill

Dr Carl Petersen

carl.petersen@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Strength and conditioning, Time-motion analysis of sport. Physiology of sports including cricket, football and triathlon.

Dr Carl Petersen

Dr Kerry Purdue

kerry.purdue@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Early childhood curriculum, quality in early childhood education, the teacher as a researcher, inclusion, children’s rights, and social justice

Dr Kerry Purdue

Dr Patrick Shepherd

patrick.shepherd@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: IT in music education, composing in the classroom, Antarctic arts; cross-curricular teaching in the arts; synaesthetics life and work of Gerald Finzi, music and history of Antarctica, administration of John F. Kennedy

Dr Patrick Shepherd

Dr David Small

david.small@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Development education, development theory, education in the Asian Pacific region, educational philosophy and theory, globalisation, sociology of education, The knowledge society

Dr David Small

Dr Gaye Tyler-Merrick

Gaye.tyler-merrick@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Antisocial development, applied behaviour analysis, behaviour screening, functional behavioural assessment and analysis, early intervention (family and education settings), behaviour and learning interventions in homes and education settings, single case designs, School-wide Positive Behaviour Support (SWPBS) and Response to Intervention (RTI).

Dr Gaye Tyler-Merrick

Dr Anne van Bysterveldt

anne.vanbysterveldt@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Home, pre-school and school literacy environments; speech, language and literacy development in children with disabilities; early intervention for children with disabilities; working with families; evidence-based therapy for children with Down syndrome

Dr Anne van Bysterveldt

Dr Mark Wallace-Bell

mark.wallace-bell@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Health behaviour change, motivational interviewing, smoking cessation and addictions.

Dr Mark Wallace-Bell

Dr Dave Winter

david.winter@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Science education and using computer-based technologies to enhance science teaching and learning

Dr Dave Winter

Dr Stuart Wise

stuart.wise@canterbury.ac.nz
Supervision Area: Student and teacher perception of ICT in music education, music technology, use of software packages in secondary music classes, student motivation as a result of use of music technology in secondary schools

Dr Stuart Wise